Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Forest Park by Richard Keeling on 500px.com

I’ve been working hard on getting a set of pictures together for my upcoming show at Washington University Medical School in December – so much so that I, getting old and confused, misread the exhibition year as 2016 when it’s really 2017. So a year and not a month away, but the effort has been fully worthwhile and is likely to lead to a better show altogether when it comes together next year.

I’ve been printing almost exclusively on canvas, a medium I like because it encourages a more painterly looking image that suits my current style of moving away from precision and towards impression.

This film photograph, shot using the reverse-rolled Lomography Redscale color film, is a particularly good example of a photograph well suited to canvas. The strong browns and reds produced by shooting a photograph through the red-tinted cellulose acetate backing give this landscape a feel very much reminiscent of landscape painters of the 18th and early 19th centuries.

I used an old and worn Nikon F3 that I bought as a bargain from the second-hand camera dealer KEH and an equally old 20mm Nikon manual focus lens to generate the negative. A digital scan of that give me the jpg that I used to make the canvas print. The result enhances both the grain of the film and the curious color balance, with blue-tinted shadows, yellow-tinted highlights and brown-red midtones.

As a result the picture looks very old, not in the least bit suggesting that I shot it a month ago in October. Of course, the lack of any modern elements in the composition enhances this appearance. I like this timeless feel. I’ve just ordered some more redscale film – I think this is a technique well worth experimenting with.

 

