Tags

, ,

 

Reclaimed Boat, Blakeney, Norfolk by Richard Keeling on 500px.com

This picture is currently hanging on the wall of the Union Avenue Christian Church gallery room. Part of a photography exhibition that opens next Saturday. I’ll be at the reception in the afternoon.

Hanging, of course, as a print and not as an image on your screen. It’s funny how much more tangible the picture seems as an actual artifact, but unsurprising really. After all, I’ve been shooting film for the past year and half to relish precisely those sorts of artifacts.

The photograph, a digital shot taken in England this summer, falls into the category of consciously pleasing images and less so into the more meaningful set of images that stake out a distinctly personal approach, but nonetheless I like it a lot. Circumstance played a huge role in its creation; little was planned beyond placing myself and a camera on the coastal path at Blakeney. I never anticipated the serendipitous conjunction of the sun lowering beneath the cloud and the reflective glass of a large boat window. I just happened to be standing in the right place at the right time.

Good stuff. Maybe this picture, largely thanks to its expanded role as a representative of my work, will take on more personal resonance. We’ll see. It really doesn’t matter that much. Meanwhile, I wander home through Forest Park most evenings and come across yet more serendipity. This one pleases me more.

Found Dress by Richard Keeling on 500px.com

There’s a story here. I’ll get it worked up eventually.

