Tags

, ,

I gave up watching television at the beginning of my thirties.

I haven’t missed it at all. The few shows that I want to watch I do so by renting DVDs from the library. I get all my news, weather and articles of general interest from the internet. I listen to BBC Radio via the internet for drama.

Removed from the most effective of all advertising media, I no longer fall prey to all the passions of avarice and envy that television promotes so relentlessly. Removed from the ratings-driven hysteria of television news, I do not fall into the whiplash trap of manipulated emotions, almost exclusively negative emotions.

I have time. Masses of time. Time to photograph or play with photographs, listen to music, read, walk, travel or meditate.

I will never go back to TV.

