Tags

, , , , ,

 

Photograph Lake Champlain at Point Au Roche by Richard Keeling on 500px

Lake Champlain at Point Au Roche by Richard Keeling on 500px

I drove out to New York state last week for the wedding of my nephew-in-law near Lake George.

This was my first view of the famous east coast fall colors, and they were indeed as spectacular as I had been led to believe.

The countryside was also quite lovely, a bit like a technicolor Scotland without the ubiquitous pines and heather. The lakes, long and narrow like lochs, greatly appealed to me.

Photograph Lake mist by Richard Keeling on 500px

Lake mist by Richard Keeling on 500px

The wedding itself was an successful as one could possibly have hoped. Good company, a moving and meaningful service, lovely location and excellent food and drink. Easily one of the best I’ve attended.

I took my current combination of film and digital cameras with me. I had hoped that my new-old Rolleiflex, formerly my dad’s and currently being repaired in California, would be ready. But that was not to be. So the Canons went instead.

I took a lot of digital pictures and a lot less film shots. But, just as I’ve noticed ever since I began using film again, I found myself valuing the film images more. Much of this value is undoubtedly process-driven. I love developing film and I am at the level where this is not a chore due to simply having too much film to process. Again, another example where digital, by virtue of its ease of use, has facilitated the pleasure of film. I know film shooting would not be nearly as much fun if I did not have the digital alternative to help keep my time manageable. This is just another reason why digital photography is so important and why we live in a truly golden age for photography, an age predicated and amplified by the invention of electronic photography. I sometimes wonder why those, caught up in the polemics of film vs. digital, fail to acknowledge this undoubted digital asset.

