Tags

,

 

Photograph Sunflower by Richard Keeling on 500px

Sunflower by Richard Keeling on 500px

Ever since I started taking my photography seriously, I find myself running into the question – well, why not make photography your job instead of your hobby?

On the surface it seems tempting. I don’t doubt (based on the visual evidence planted on the web by many who do seek to make a living from photography) that I have both the talent and the necessary equipment to do this. What I don’t have, though, is the right aptitude or attitude.

To be successful in photography means doing a lot of bread and butter shooting. That is, weddings, portraits, graduations etc. I simply have no interest in such photography. Oh, I will shoot a wedding as a back-up photographer for a favor if asked, but I’m not going to either seek it out or be upfront. For me, it simply has no pleasurable component. Whereas what I do in my own time following my own interests most certainly does.

So, any money making potential in my own work remains restricted to selling a few prints now and again and that is about it. I potter along as a scientist to pay the bills and that’s the way it’s going to be until I retire. In the meantime, I can remain reassured that my photography will never become a chore and always remain a pleasure.

