Tags

, , , , , ,

 

Photograph MFA Grain Elevator by Richard Keeling on 500px

MFA Grain Elevator by Richard Keeling on 500px

I spent last weekend in Lebanon.

A moderate sized town in the south and central part of Missouri. Deep in the most conservative part of the state, and with a feel of town situated in the South rather than the Midwest.

Not that I spent much time in that part of town. I was with friends in a house on the outskirts, swimming, drinking and eating for most of the trip. Only for a brief period did I venture downtown on a Sunday morning. These photographs are from that visit.

Photograph Landscape, Madison & Commercial Street, Lebanon by Richard Keeling on 500px

Landscape, Madison & Commercial Street, Lebanon by Richard Keeling on 500px

I wandered down to the grain elevators and railroads tracks.

I’ve always loved railways and I find the intricate structures that form commercial grain elevators fascinating.

Photograph MFA Grain Elevator by Richard Keeling on 500px

MFA Grain Elevator by Richard Keeling on 500px

On this Sunday morning, the area was deserted. It was a searingly hot day. I felt the heat radiate upwards off the asphalt and concrete. Not, perhaps, the most desirable place to be on the surface, but I found myself warming in turn to the rural industry on display. A set of tracks and elevators, much as can be found in any Midwestern farm town, but strangely beautiful.

 

