Tags

, ,

I read today that there are about one million websites devoted to photography. That means that my little contributions to the form shown here are just one raindrop in a monsoon.

Just as well, then, that I don't earn a living from it. I don't make a fortune by any means, but I can rest pretty much assured that there are only a handful of people in the world doing biochemical assays for mitochondrial muscle disease and I'm one of them. So maximum job security and a great bunch of people to work with as well. That's a lot to be thankful for.

Especially these days where all the old assumptions for so many folk are changing and not for the better. The relentlessly gloomy news headlines in all directions only seem to underline this and sometimes it's hard not to get caught up in the general malaise.

That's a mistake. Life is good, good in all the areas that really count – family, work, play. When I find my mood slipping into the prevailing storm of unease, distrust, and fear, I find it reassuring to remember this.

So, playfully, I took a few shots of Forest Park on the way home on my bicycle on a beautiful afternoon yesterday. Here's one taken from the perspective of a river rat.

