Tags

, , , ,

August 8, 2011

We drove out of Yellowstone National Park on Highway 20/89. This took us along the western shore of Yellowstone Lake. It's funny to think that this lake is 7,732 feet (2,376 m) above sea level but that would certainly explain the fast sunburn I picked up on my arms photographing this body of water.

The day was getting on – it was 6:30 p.m. when I took the above photograph – and we wanted to make as much progress as we could heading south and west out of the park. This meant that we sped through a lot of landscape that I would have liked to give better attention to but I still was able to get a few interesting shots.

By the time we got to Jackson Lake and the view of the Grand Teton Mountains across the water, the sun was almost below the horizon. But enough remained to clip the top of the peaks. This made for a more interesting series of views that I expected.

