Tags

,

I've been picking up, in fairly short order, a number of records released over the past 13 years by Six Organs of Admittance.

The reason for this is simple. The sound world that I was introduced to by Asleep On The Floodplain is so perfectly congenial with my own tastes and likes that it would be hard to find a more perfect fit.

Happily, for this is not always the case, I am finding the the rest of Ben Chasny's prolific output maintains this harmony.

It's too early for me to write about much of this music as I am still absorbing it. I like to begin at the beginning with artists that I like, and I've been spending time with Six Organs of Admittances' self-titled first album dating from 1998.

This is a slightly more experimental and scattershot collection than some of the works that follow, and lays out a blueprint for much of the later music. Its basis is the same acoustic guitar rumination that underpins most of Six Organs output, sometimes overlayed or underlayed with gentle, chant-like, vocals and extraneous sounds – some harmonious, other less so.

It's a peaceful and seductive record that verges on ambient music without ever quite getting there. It has the quality of sounding both quite familiar and quite new at the same time.

I am really enjoying discovering this music. Its greatest worth is that it has drawn me into it in the way that the best music of previous years has drawn me into those times. Finally, I have a soundtrack for the past decade.

