Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Funny how swiftly the year rolls around. Seems like only yesterday when I was agonizing over what to put into last year's Washington University Medical School art show. So here I am at it again.

I always make my decision based on what interests me at the moment. This year, I selected three images from a day trip I made to Romney Marsh in Kent last summer. I was on my own and what seemed unpromising at first turned into a beautiful and rather magical day.I had about 150 photographs to chose from and had difficulty narrowing it down to three. I decided to experiment a bit with contrast and color. I used a Canon picture profile called 'Clear' that has the effect of boosting both those qualities as my starting point. I modified the effect to some extent to produce what I judged to be a pleasing result.I printed these on photo rag paper, taking the sheen off the brightest colors and restoring a slightly more natural light. Tomorrow, I'll take them in.At top is the Bilsington Monument, in the middle the church of St. Mary on the Marsh and at bottom a Celtic cross in the church of St. Marys Magdaline (sic), Ruckinge.

