Tags

, , , , ,

After another period of closure due to flooding, the Edward "Ted" and Pat Jones-Confluence Point State Park is open again. Another chance for me to visit it, so I did so again this afternoon. The river was higher than on my previous visit and a thick coating of silt gave evidence of the point's recent submerging.

In the fisheye photograph below you can the see the two great rivers as they join. To the left in the Missouri River, to the right, the Mississippi. Behind me is the view you see in the top photo. The rougher water is coming from the Mississippi, the smoother from the Missouri.
The road to the park takes you by the Melvin Price Locks and Dam at Alton. I always like to take a look at this dam. It was another outstandingly beautiful day. The sort of day that gives you a thrill to be alive.

