Tags

, , ,

Only yesterday, I was reading about this little creature and a threatened wave of terrifying house invasions. Well, they're here!

This one came in on a tomato Ruth picked in the garden. I thought at first it was a Halyomorpha halys, also known as the brown marmorated stink bug. An invader from the far east, it has no natural predator in the U.S.A. and is becoming an agricultural scourge. However Stardancer's sharp eye reveals it to be a home grown stink bug. It lacks a white band on its antennae and thus most likely belongs to the local varieties of Brochymena or Euschistus.

Well, that's a relief. I guess.

I got this one out of the house before it released the foul smell that gives it its name, probably because I was nice to it and took a most flattering photograph. No doubt it is scuttling back to the tomato plant where it was happily feeding before its unexpected translocation.

