Tags

, , , , , ,

I drove out to Hunstanton Cliffs last night, hoping to catch a good sunset. It's the only place on the east coast of England where it is possible to photograph the setting sun over the water, by virtue of its position on the eastern shore of The Wash.

It did not look promising when I arrived. So I spent a little time with long exposure shots that added a slightly otherworldly sheen to the sea and sky – as well as to the fishermen on the beach.The cliffs themselves are striking. Not particularly tall, but unusually colored with their white chalk on top of red limestone.The sunset? Well, that finally arrived as you can see in the post below. I was with a group of photographers waiting for this. Half had given up and gone home; I was glad I stayed until the tell-tale red flow at the horizon's edge exploded into the sun.

