Tags

, ,

I ordered a new laptop computer for myself yesterday. It's a HP Pavilion dv4-2160us.

This is what it looks like.

I devoted about six weeks intermittent research to this purchase, going back and forth between various models. In the end, two factors played the most important part – size and screen resolution. These days the bulk of available laptops have a screen resolution of 1366 x 768 pixels. That's too thin and narrow for looking at 6 x 4 scale photographs and that's going to be the primary purpose of this computer. Also, I wanted something relatively small and light to carry with my photo equipment. This HP has a resolution of 1280 x 800, a 14.1" diagonal screen and weighs 5.2 lbs.

It's going to be my first Windows 7 computer, has a processor (Intel i5) more powerful than anything I've used before and will handle my imaging processing pretty well – certainly faster than my current desktop set up. It wasn't dreadfully expensive either, always a good thing. It should come next week from NewEgg. I'm excited.

