Tags

, ,

The ongoing and awful oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico put me in mind of our trip to the beautiful State of Louisiana in 2007.

Specifically of a drive I made to the coastline at Cypremort Point State Park on a wet and foggy afternoon. The Louisiana coastline is difficult to reach by car – there are few roads, and this one, Highway 319, is one of the rare exceptions.

I remember, as I drove this lonely road through empty farm and marsh land, being astonished to find this enormous bridge crossing what looked like a shipping canal. One might expect to find a large city on the other side, but there's nothing except the park and few seaside houses. Not quite a bridge to nowhere, but not far off.

Still, I was very glad it existed. It took me to the sea.

More pictures here.

