Tags

, , , ,

I got home from work tonight, and after my usual early evening pastime of listening to a BBC Radio play I looked out of the house and thought that the light looked rather interesting.So I jumped in the car and drove the 20 or so miles out into St. Charles County and onto one of my favorite local farmland landscapes.

I'm glad I did.

I experimented a little tonight. The above photograph was taken with a 30 second exposure using a very dark neutral density filter (ND 3 that allows only 0.1% light through). The clouds moving over that period of time give the sky scene a delightful blur.This bottom shot taken with a long telephoto lens. I didn't see too much at the time, but looking at it now, it's apparent that this particular railway has a touch of a roller-coaster to it.

A very peaceful and soothing evening.

