Tags

, , ,

Another bare tree from St. Charles County. Taken yesterday, Sunday, on the last chill afternoon of January.

You can see the ramp up the levee and a grain storage silo in the background. I was standing close to the Missouri River. Here's a view upstream, with me standing on the levee looking into a frozen ditch. The Missouri River is to the left.I stayed until the sun set, standing alone on the levee, brown from dead grass.The river was high. A wing dam that is normally well above the surface was completely submerged, but close enough to the surface to disturb the flowing water.I took these photographs yesterday, but arranging them today lacked pleasure. Allan's death, and the permanent shuttering of his own camera's lens, hangs heavy. I was recording the end of a winter's month while his life was ending. I cannot disentangle these thoughts tonight.

