Tags

, , , , ,

Finally…

After many visits to Hardin, Illinois, I caught the Joe Page vertical lift bridge up. A barge has just passed underneath it.

Quite a sight!

Here's another shot from April in its lowered position.

It was a rather more eventful excursion than I wished – not long after taking this photograph, and driving down a remote country lane in pursuit of a natural area, the entire exhaust of the car broke away from the engine, hanging by the muffler and scraping away on the road with an appalling sound while the engine turned into a roar.

I stopped the car, and managed to unhook the muffler. No way could I repair or even carry the exhaust, so I abandoned it and drove home sounding like a flock of Harley-Davidsons! Fortunately, I made it home without problem. Ah well, more business for our local garage.

