Tags

, , , ,

In Montana, not far from its beginnings at Three Forks, and flowing, at this point, north. The valley is very pretty here with rocky outcrops making it look weirdly like a model – an effect greatly reinforced by the estimated 3,000 railway cars parked on the riverside by the BNSF railway. This eyesore has not gone down well with the locals.

This, on the other hand, is the Missouri just before its end. A mile or so away from the conjuction with the Mississippi and taken tonight on a very steamy evening. The river has matured considerably over its 2,540 miles (4,090 km) journey!I was very happy to take this latter picture. I found a wing dam that extends maybe 100 yards into the water that was easily accessible (relatively – I fell on my kness and ripped my slacks). It's in an undeveloped area, adding to its charm.

