Tags

,

I revisited this spot on the Illinois River in the Glades/12 Mile Island Wildlife Management Area yesterday. The same trip that gave me these photographs of the ALton Bridge.

I find this spot, with its flood-damaged waterside homes and mud-caked ground, to have a evocative resonance with me that I can't quite pin down but seems very meaningful.

Here the river stamped its presence very emphatically on the surrounding land – perhaps that gives the area a sense of wildness and unpredictability that I like.

Yesterday, little had changed since my last summer visit. The mud looked undisturbed and the same condemned signs were still pasted on the buildings. No work had been done to either renovate or demolish. The season had moved on, but not man's activity. I liked that.

