Tags

, ,

Three of my photographs in the Washington University Medical School Art Show (reception tonight, I'll be going shortly). Now I have a little more space on the walls in my house!

There is reason I selected those three together, and titled the set 'Continental Divide'. As I looked through my photographs and starting grouping them in my mind, I realised that those three could be seen as a commentary on the French diaspora from Acadia to Louisiana after the British kicked them out.

Hearst, Ontario, is a French Canadian town remaining doggedly French in English-speaking Ontario. The barges are on the Mississippi, one of the main navigation routes south into Louisiana, and happen to show the colors of the French flag. In the picture of the Gulf of Mexico at Cypremort Point – note the French name – I could easily imagine a newly arrived ex-Acadian looking bittersweetly at that same southern sea.

