Tags

,

I was flipping through some old boxes in my basement office when I found my old Canon G2 camera. I haven't used it for about 3 years, but I remember well how much I liked it when I got it – and how much money I paid for it! I haven't been following the Canon 'G' series since then, but tonight I did a brief search and found that they are now up G9!

Technology has come a long way; just look at these sample photographs from the G2 vs. the G9.

Well, upping from 4 megapixels to 12 will do something for resolution. What did strike me, as I read through the G9 review, is how the megapixel madness has led to appalling levels of electronic noise. Currently it is just not possible to squeeze that many pixels into the tiny sensors of a point-and-shoot camera (in the case of the G9, about 8 x 6 mm – compare with a Canon 30D digital SLR that has only about 8 megapixels but a sensor size of approximately 23 x 15 mm!) and avoid heat and the resulting misfiring pixels.

All done, I suspect, because megapixel count has become the selling point of these cameras. A good example of marketing leading the consumer – and the manufacturers – astray. You would be much better off with a maximum of 6 or 7 megapixels for a camera of this type.

Ah well. 🙂

